top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturegeorgiayatesdesign

08.2020 A Lockdown Project

‘The not so Green Queen’ is a children book Wrote and Illustrated by Katherine Wheatley, whom though her small business “Bumblegreen Books” has published and is how selling her two books on https://bumblegreenbooks.co.uk

In February I started a placement at Bumblegreen Books alongside an author, illustrator and designer. My main role during this placement was to take illustrations (made by the Author/ illustrator) photograph them, edit and prepare layout ready for the book to go to print. I helped put together “The not so Green Queen”, A children’s story book about learning how to be green and take care of planet earth. As some one who is Eco conscious, I felt passionately about this project and the credentials that this small business has.


virtual meeting -

However when lock down was put in place this became more of a virtual project. Working as a team was extremely important, this project took a lot of back and forth between the different members of the team and relied heavily on technology. However this gave me a great insight to how doing freelance work from my home might work, and gave me the confidence to put myself and my work out there and reach out to work digitally during this time to further grow my portfolio/ CV.


I had loads of fun helping create this book and feel I have gained valuable experience in the type of field I eventually want to go into after my degree.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page